In his 42nd season as Holy Ghost Prep’s head coach, Tony Chapman ’71 guided the Firebirds (24-5 overall, 12-2 BAL) to Independence Division title in the school’s farewell season in the Bicentennial Athletic League (BAL). The 2020 BAL postseason tourney brought even more success as the Firebirds defeated four opponents over the course of six days, culminating in a thrilling 54-45 victory over The Christian Academy to capture the BAL postseason tournament. Senior guard Tyler Mish recorded 39 points in the tourney semifinal against Dock Mennonite, one of the top offensive performances in HGP history.   

Holy Ghost Prep was the No. 2 seed in the PIAA District Class 5A playoffs—behind only West Chester East. The Firebirds won their opening playoff game over Marple Newtown, but lost to Penn Wood in the second round of districts and then fell to Strath Haven in a PIAA District Class 5A playback game to end their season with a 24-5 mark. Sweet-shooting senior guard Tyler Mish, who signed with Division III Moravian College, and senior big man Steve Cianci were named two of the best players in the county at season's end by the Bucks County Courier Times

Coach Chapman said: “This team carried on the tradition of HGP basketball.  They grew as a team, overcame adversity and injuries, and I hope will remember the season and especially the post regular season BAL tourney and district games for the sense of community as displayed by the support we received—as much as any of the teams I have coached.  I am continually proud to be part of HGP.”

Chapman was able assisted by Tom Finnegan, Bruce Simon, Sean Simon, Bob Sarcewicz, Tom Heston, Jack Chapman, Bob McCarthy, Jack Crouse, Barry Bessler, and Tim Butler.

This year’s seniors on the team were:

John Burke

TJ Butler

Tyler Mish

Steve Cianci

Sean Elliott

John Armentani  

Tyler Mish will play at Moravian College next season.


2020 All-BAL selections

First Team: Tyler Mish 

Second Team: Steve Cianci, Sean Elliott

Honorable Mention: Jack McDermott

BAL Coach of the Year (Independence Division): Tony Chapman


2020 Bucks County Courier Golden Team selections

First Team: Tyler Mish 

Second Team: Steve Cianci 


The following players earned a 2019-20 varsity certificate and letter for basketball:


John Armentani

John Burke

T.J. Butler

Steve Cianci

Sean Elliott

Tyler Mish

Ryan Moretti



Ryan Coolahan

Liam Huy

Christopher Kada

Jack McDermott

Zaccary Newsham-Quinn

Ryan O’Hara

Tyler Schmidt

Zachary Van Arsdale



Felix Flis

Sean McGrenehan

Shane Reilly

Dylan Shead



The team sportsmanship award is presented to the member of the varsity team who embodies our mission statement on and off the field, and sets the best example of the character of the Holy Ghost Prep athlete.  This season’s winner is John Burke.

Basketball Schedules - 2019-2020




Follow Us @HGPBasketball