News Post

Holy Ghost Prep graduates its Class of 2018
Holy Ghost Prep graduates its Class of 2018

Holy Ghost Prep graduates its Class of 2018

Holy Ghost Preparatory School graduated 117 seniors at its commencement exercises on Saturday, June 2 on the campus lawn behind Cornwells Hall.

During the ceremony, students were recognized for their accomplishments and were reminded that they will always be brothers not only with members of the Class of 2018 but with all other Holy Ghost Prep graduates.

“Stay connected, never lose that sense of community and brotherhood that is Holy Ghost Prep,” said Holy Ghost Prep President Gregory J. Geruson ’79. “It is not as easy to do as it sounds. Friends move, life changes. But you are a remarkably close group, and my prayer for you is that that same feeling of brotherhood can always remain.”

Besides Geruson, the other featured graduation speakers were valedictorian Owen Sienko and Matthew Costello, a 1991 HGP graduate who serves on Holy Ghost Prep’s Board of Trustees and is a vice president of hardware engineering and operations at Apple and the chief operating officer of Beats by Dr. Dre.

Sienko cited how the red doors of Cornwells Hall symbolize “both the beginning and end of our journey” and then wove the theme of doors throughout his well-crafted speech.

“Those red doors over there will always be open to us, and we will always have a home here,” said Sienko, a truly gifted writer headed to Syracuse University renowned S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications in the fall. “I couldn’t be prouder of what we’ve accomplished, couldn’t be more excited to see what differences we’ll make in the future, and couldn’t be happier to share such an amazing high school experience with my classmates. So, as we walk away today with diplomas in our hands and fires in our hearts, let us set our eyes upon the future and prepare to kick down any doors that stand in our way.”

In his commencement address, Costello recalled his days at Holy Ghost Prep and how the school had laid the groundwork for his success in the corporate world. He also dubbed Holy Ghost Prep's Class of 2018 “Generation E” as they are blessed four qualities that start with “E”: Enlightened, Environmental, Evolving, and Enthusiastic. 

“Education is a lifelong process, not something that ends only in a diploma,” Costello said. “Enlightenment is the process of learning and continuing to push yourself to get better.”

Salutatorian Connor DiMarco delivered his address the evening before at the beautiful Baccalaureate Mass. In his salutatorian speech, DiMarco—who will head to the University of Michigan in the fall—perfectly set the tone for the weekend with remarks that were equals parts funny, smart, and reflective.

During the graduation ceremony, special prizes and awards were presented to the following graduating seniors:

The School Spirit Award: Colin Philip Landers

The Rev. Jeffrey T. Duaime, C.S. Sp. ’76 Award for Service Leadership in the Spiritan Tradition: Patrick John McLean

The Sedes Sapientiae Award for Scholarship, Leadership and Achievement: Mason Sami El-Habr

National Honor Society Service Medal: Brian Anthony Gabriele

Medal, Overall Excellence in Mathematics: Mason Sami El-Habr

Diane Garforth Medal, Overall Excellence in English: Brian Anthony Gabriele

Medal, Overall Excellence in Writing: Mason Sami El-Habr

Medal, Overall Excellence in Religion: Brendan Scott Mindiak

Medal, Overall Excellence in Science: Mason Sami El-Habr

Medal, Overall Excellence in Social Studies: John Robert Martin

Medal, Overall Excellence in Art: Jacob T. Lawall and Owen Daniel Yake

Medal, Overall Excellence in Music: Bryan Andrew Quigley

Medal, Overall Excellence in the Performing Arts: Michael A. DiNofa

Medal, Overall Excellence in Computer Science: Mason Sami El-Habr

Medal, Overall Excellence in Latin: Anthony Dennis Baum

Medal, Overall Excellence in Spanish: Brendan Scott Mindiak

Medal, Overall Excellence in French: Owen Andrew Sienko

Paul J. Pomeroy, Jr. Student Marshal Medal (Highest cumulative GPA): Mason Sami El-Habr

Silver Cups of Recognition (Highest academic achievers in senior class)

Christopher James Aileo

Anthony Dennis Baum

Eric Thomas Booth

Eric John D’Angelo

Connor DiMarco

Mason Sami El-Habr

Jack Thomas Elliott

Brian Anthony Gabriele

Matthew Robert Hofmann

Sean Liam Kerrigan

Steven Macchione, Jr.

John Robert Martin

Brendan Scott Mindiak

Austin Tyler Moran

Kevin Daniel Mulcahy

Mark-Jonathan Talingting Pabalan

Bryan Andrew Quigley

Aleksnader William Seibel

Owen Andrew Sienko

Ryan Andrew Taylor



The Holy Ghost Prep students receiving diplomas were:

Christopher James Aileo

Nicholas Anthony Appolonia

Luke Anthony Aquaro

Corry Albert Arnold

Stefano M. Arnone

Liam Joseph Athas

Anthony Dennis Baum

Grayson James Bautz

John Bishop

Paul John Bizzaro II

Eric Thomas Booth

Robert W. Braun

Casey T. Buck

Ryan J. Callahan

Aidan Campagnolio

Patrick S. Cannon

Joseph Anthony Carrado, Jr.

Kevin Michael Caulfield

Michael Charlton

Zachary John Chipperfield

Carlo Anthony Ciccotelli

Brandon C. Cimino

Collin M. Cimino

Jake James Conti

Christopher William Corr

Nicholas Vincent Costigan

Ryan Danastorg

Eric John D’Angelo

Alexander Danna

Anthony Michael Dattilo, Jr.

Joshua De Oliveira

Tristan Nathan Devine

Connor DiMarco

Michael A. DiNofa

Shawn Joseph Donohue

Matthew Robert Doucette

Brendan James Eagen

Mason Sami El-Habr

Jack Thomas Elliott

Connor Edward Fife

Alexander J. Finney

Brian Anthony Gabriele

Kyle Frank Gardyan

Thomas Joseph Geib, Jr.

Graham P. Gibbs

Dale Victor C. Glova

Dean Guiliano

Zamir Kennell Guy

Hunter Charles Hensel

Matthew Robert Hofmann

Daniel Hoyt

Timothy Steven Hughes

Richard Johnson III

Dylan Glenn Kelley

Sean Liam Kerrigan

Cole Michael Kosmorsky

Dillon LaCorte

Colin  Philip Landers

Jacob T. Lawall

Ryan James Legris

Anthony Vincent Leipziger

Richard Liberatore

Shangqi Lin

Ryan Michael Lucas

Steven Macchione, Jr.

Cole Anthony Martillotti

John Robert Martin

Max Ryan Massari

Sean Michael Massello

Shane Robert McHugh

Patrick John McLean

Brendan Scott Mindiak

Austin Tyler Moran

Joshua Mozdzonek

Ryan M. Mudrick

Kevin Daniel Mulcahy

Luke Patrick Muller

Zachary David Nangle

Jeremy Chidi Obaze

John Francis O’Connell

Sean O’Hara

Patrick Anthony Espiritu Oniate

Mark-Jonathan Talingting Pabalan

Jarrod Padilla

Ryan John Parsons

Andrew Nicholas Phillips

Daniel James Pinciotti III

Nicholas Joseph Quaranto

Bryan Andrew Quigley

Michael Reilly

Jacob Dominic Riti

Alexander R. Rubinstein

Matthew Edward Rueter

Phillip Rueter

George Charles Rusnak

William Barry Russell

Matthew R. Savinon

John P. Schrenk

Aleksander William Seibel

Mark Philip  Seibert

Jared Michael Septer

Owen Andrew Sienko

Alexander Simon

Zitao Song

Brett R. Sternberg

Shane B. Stevens

Ryan Andrew Taylor

Kevin James Trusdell

Jason Tyrrell

Luke Isaac Verga

Zachary Vittorelli

Willdragon Wang

Timothy P. Wolfe

Owen Daniel Yake

Kevin Yohe

John Zampirri

Alec Bryce Zubyk